Blog Writing in Google Docs (How to use the Linux Terminal Font)

While I am writing blogs about using Linux, it became quickly apparent that the font for the Linux Terminal would become useful. Every-time I make a post to show what command I enter into Terminal I wanted to show it exactly as it appears when I type it into terminal. This could avoid any issues of differences between i’s and L’s etc.

The first thing I did was install and activate the Extensis Font App by clicking the Add-ons tab and selecting the Get add-ons… In case this is tricky for you; this link may prove useful Extensis.

2 Google Docs Add Ons - Extensis.png

Search for and find the Extensis application and enable it.

3 Enable-Install Extensis.png

Once you click the + Free button you’ll have to allow all the permissions as you see fit. I’ll let you determine the best way for you to do that. I consider that to be a rather personal decision regarding your own information and privacy etc.

Once Extensis is installed and enabled for your Google Docs account, you may have to go back in and manage it. This is a rather deceiving thing to do, as Managing the App literally means deleting/removing it, or other technical things of that nature. I wanted to actually enter the app and enable more fonts. (later finding that is not necessary.)

** Unnecessary Step **

3 Enable-Install Extensis.png

If you are curious as I was; go ahead and select the Add-ons tab again and find the Extensis App that you installed.

4 Manage Extensis App.png

Once that loads on the right side of your screen you’ll want to select the font that is best for your application. I found that the scrollbar on the right did not work. I was able to work around this flaw by selecting the first font on the list and hold the down arrow until I found the fonts I was looking for.

5 Extensis - Alphabetical Sorting.png

Pleasantly surprised I found the Ubuntu font group. After playing around with them I found Ubuntu Mono to be precisely the font I was looking for. I wanted to enable all of the Ubuntu fonts just to be certain I had all the tools I would need to keep blogging about Linux. I realized then that this was merely a list of the fonts. There must be some other way to enable them. Back to my application for the font…

6 Extensis Scrolldown to Ubuntu.png

** A Possibly Necessary Step **

As a precautionary step; I re-enabled the English language, which supposedly would then enable different font packages. I found a discussion that some frustration over the topic, but also included a solution. So I just did it to be sure my font would be available.

1 Google Docs Fonts - Languages.png

Once I set the language to English (United States) I was then able to highlight text and change the font to an expanded list. Perhaps this refreshed or loaded my additional fonts? I’m not sure but I was able to select the font I wanted most after doing this.

** Back to Known Necessary Steps **

What I was trying to do was create a box with dotted lines around it as is rather customary in Linux forums to represent what is typed in a Terminal window for demonstration purposes. In that box I wanted to use that Linux Terminal font. The procedure to create this box that I use in Google Docs is as follows:

Insert Drawing:

7 Insert Drawing.png

In the next window you will want to create a rectangle to modify and give that distinctive look of a picture that adequately represents a Terminal Command.

8 Drawing Shapes Rectangle.png

This gives you a cross-hair which is used to click and drag to define the shape and size of your rectangle.

9 Click Drag - Make Rectangle.png

Once you’ve created a rectangle you can then modify its properties to make it just the way you want it. I think it looks rather good by changing the color to dark gray3:

10 Fill Color Dark Gray 3.png

Once the color of the rectangle is set, you can add dotted lines. I like the Pixel Weight px2 particularly well:

11 Pixel Weight px2.png

The Line Dash 3 also seems to make the box look distinctive in the blog, and seems somewhat standard in the Linux Blogging world. Anyways, I like it like that, so I choose the third one down:

12 Line Dash 3.png

The next step is to put something in that box. It is not really all that obvious at first how to put text in the box. I initially wondered if it was even designed to hold text. Perhaps I would have to add a text box on top of the image I just created… That is not the case. Google made this part simple for us. Just double click in the box and type away!

13 Double Click to put cursor in the box.png

Once you have some characters in the box, highlight them and we get to see if we can give it that special Ubuntu Mono font that we want so much.

14 Highlite Text.png

Now that you highlighted your text you want to change the font. The box is not labelled as such, but it is the 2nd box from the right. In the Image above it currently has the font title Arial. Select this box to get a dropdown menu. At the bottom of the menu you will look for “F+ More fonts…” Options at the bottom of that search menu.

15 Select Font Dropdown Box.png

The next window that opens up is basically a search app for fonts. In order to utilize the fonts we want, we first have to find them on a list and activate them.

16 Search Fonts Ubuntu.png

In this menu, I only had to type ubuntu in the search field to get exactly what I was looking for. Take note the check boxes next to the fonts.

17 Enable Fonts as Needed.png

Make sure to enable the fonts you would like to be able to use in your Google Documents. In my case, I enabled all 3 of the Ubuntu related fonts.

 

 

You still have to select the fonts one more time to actually change the font in the gray box you created.

18 After Enabled - Select Font.png

Back at your gray box with highlighted text, select the font drop down box, and notice that the fonts you enabled are now at the top of your list. This is really convenient for me, as I do not need to search for it in my list. It is right at the top.

19 Ubuntu Mono Font Activated.png

Now that I selected the Ubuntu Mono font, it changes the text in my box to look just as I want it. I opened a Terminal Window to compare, it was identical! Just what I wanted.

lblsk output.png

Completely satisfied with myself I hit Save and Close and finally have a box that looks just the way I want with that special font I was looking for. I now have the ability to write my blogs in Google Docs and include the images to represent Linux Terminal Commands in that characteristic manner I was looking for.

20 Google Docs Ubuntu Font.png

Leave a Reply

